Something Strange This Way

Janet Cardiff and George Bures Miller

Eds.: Maria Kappel Blegvad, Zev Tiefenbach


Publisher: Hatje Cantz

ISBN 978-3-7757-3978-8


  • Janet Cardiff
  • George Bures Miller
  • Mieke Bal
  • Michael Eigfved
  • Michael Turner
  • Laura Kikauka
  • Nynne Martinusen
  • Ellen Langvold
  • Mia Rose Brooks
  • Maria Kappel Blegvad
  • Zev Tiefenbach
  • Robyn Moody
  • Roald Dahl
  • Erlend G. Hoyersten

The multimedia works by the Canadian artist duo Janet Cardiff (*1957) and George Bures Miller (*1960) directly touch the senses. They are often reminiscent of childhood experiences, contrasting fun with the surprising and the uncanny. Something Strange This Way documents a unique presentation at the ARoS Aarhus Art Museum that for the first time unites six large-scale installations by the artists on the subject of the entertainment industry in a fairground-like course. Colorful lights, music, and maze sequences define the atmosphere and take visitors on a trip to a no man’s land situated somewhere between reality and fiction: besides The Killing Machine (2007), Opera for a Small Room (2005), and the interactive sound sculpture, Cabinet of Curiousness (2010), the works Storm Room (2009) und The Carnie (2010) are being shown in Europe for the first time. One of the special highlights of the exhibition is also the famous work The Forty Part Motet (2001), an elaborate sound installation with forty individual speakers.